New to Alabama. What do I need to know about the law here in West Mobile?

May 17, 2024 | FAQ | 0 comments

New to Alabama. What do I need to know about the law here in West Mobile?

Welcome. Many of our laws are just like you had elsewhere … but some are not.

Here we go:


All vehicle drivers and riders must wear them.

Booster seats are a must for children under 6.

Cell Phones

Don’t use handheld devices when driving. This includes no texting and driving. Non-held phones using Bluetooth are ok.

Note: In my caseload, distracted driving is one of the major causes of accidents here in Mobile.


Like every other state, Alabama takes drinking and driving very seriously. Just don’t do it. What you might not know is that our state is beginning to take boating and drinking just as seriously.


If you are not used to circles (roundabouts), here is the rule: yield to the person already in the circle. The person on the right goes first rule (used at 4-way stops) is not used at circles.

Speed Limits – general rules but check the signs.

Interstate – 65 or 70 mph

Alabama Highways – 55 mph

Rural Roads – 45 mph

City Streets – 25 mph


Helmets are required for all motorcycle riders and for bike riders under 16 years of age. Having seen some very serious bike accidents, I advise that everyone wear a helmet.


The minimums in Alabama are pathetic: $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage. If you are seriously hurt, that will not come close to covering your medical bills. I strongly suggest you have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. It is amazingly cheap. Some studies have shown that at least a fourth of the drivers on Alabama roads have little to no insurance.

Another note: Keep a paper or electronic copy of your insurance in your car. Failure to prove that you have the minimum coverage can result in having your car impounded. Under certain circumstances, you could also be subject to fines and license suspension.

Don’t Admit Fault

Alabama has an odd rule. If you are even 1% to blame, you cannot collect anything. Exchange insurance information if you are able but let your lawyer fight about who is at fault.

Lawsuit Timelines

If you are injured in an accident in Alabama, you only have 2 years to file a lawsuit to collect any money. It doesn’t matter how long you have in your former state. Once that time has passed, you will not collect anything – ever. So, contact an Alabama lawyer sooner rather than later. As is true at our office, many attorneys will talk to you for free and explain your rights.

Again, welcome to Mobile and the Gulf Coast. I think you will like it here. We sure do.

Jason Steele

Alabama Personal Injury Attorney

Talk to me for free  (251) 666-1212